GVBD State Events

GVBD State Men’s Singles 2019-2020 Final Results

Winner of the State Men’s Singles Championship 2019-2020

We are delighted to announce the winner of the GVBD Men’s State Singles Championship  for 2019/20.

A great response to this event resulted in two venues being required. Both Shepp Golf and Shepp Park were used on the first days play and the subsequent Semi Finals and Finals were played at Shepparton Park  Bowls Club.

In the Semi Finals – Josh Warren (Shepp Park) played Charlie Pellegrino (Hilltop) with a confident win of 25/18. Brad Orr played Connor Trewen (East Shepp) and won by a narrow margin of 25/23.

In the Final playoff Brad Orr, the winner of a number of GVBD Men’s singles titles including the two past consecutive years of 2018 and 2019, played a challenging match against Josh Warren. The calibre of play was breathtaking with exemplary draw bowling being demonstrated by Josh. A number of ends were killed by Brad but the final outcome was a convincing win by Josh of 25/10.

Many thanks needs to be acknowledged to both Shepparton Park BC and Shepparton Golf BC for their clubs team work in preparing the greens, providing appetising meals for players and creating the welcoming atmosphere for both spectators and players. Apart from the many ‘behind the scene’ people who are the backbone of these events such as organisers, Greenkeepers, Greens Committee, Catering Committees and l best not forget the Bar Staff we would like to acknowledge the markers at both clubs who gave up their time to assist the running of this event. Thank you also to the great response by the GV men in entering this event. Alongside this we would also like to thank the Umpires Leo Pye, Ron Bartley, Wayne Gribble and Gordon Nash.

The event was extremely well entered and reflected the excellent talent in the G.V.  Well done to all participants and especially to Josh for his winning of the GVBD State Men’s Singles for 2019/20 Season.


On behalf of the GVBD Weekend Match & Pennant Committee

Rob Sceney (Director), (Chairperson), Kevin Walsh, Brian Nesbit, Stuart Florence and Shane Walsh


 State Men’s Singles 2019 Full RESULTS